He May Not Come When You Want Him

P-Clock

I don’t remember the last time I drank the blood of Christ and ate the bread that is his body. I’ve never rubbed the belly of Buddha. I’m not sure if I pray to the East but I am sure I don’t kneel seven times a day. I don’t light the menorah during Hanukkah and I have no knowledge of the West Afrikan religion my forefathers practiced before being forced upon a ship after they gave up their spears because their enemies had rifles.

But, the one thing I’ve come to realize is the truth in that song the old Jubilee choir used to sing while I rested my head in my mother’s lap continuing the slumber I participated before she slapped a suit, tie and vaseline on my face before church. And, that is, ‘he may not come when you want him, but he’ll be right on time. He is an on time God, yes, he is.’

This is not your philandering preacher providing words of council because he is being paid to, this is the sheer reality of the amazing things God can do when you just wait patiently.

The past four or five months have been a struggle for me in many ways. I am going through my second quarter life crisis, as many psychoanalysts would diagnose. I’ve had to balance school, career, volunteer organizations, family, bills and finance, and most of all, a spiritual transformation that I’ve never seen before in my life.

I’ve made mistakes in my past that are haunting my present and I’ve done things that don’t necessarily make me smile, but the one thing that I’ve come to realize is that miracles happen to everyone. The Creator doesn’t choose one or two to provide knowledge or blessings–he chose us all to receive what we need and what we want as long as we have the faith that it will happen when it is supposed to happen.

I felt God yesterday. I feel his presence all the time, but it was as if I could feel his presence on the inside of me, which means that despite my past, despite my mistakes, despite what I’ve done wrong or right in this life, as long as I am always consistently trying to better myself both mentally and spiritually he will provide for me.

When all is lost he will provide a compass, when you are depressed he will be your counselor, when you can’t make a decision he will provide you with knowledge–and he may not provide it when you think you need it, but I promise he’ll be there when you least expect it.

And, don’t get me wrong, I hate surprises but I can guarantee you’ll like the ones he has in store for you.

-J. Prince, Princepality 82

Tagged

Leave a Reply

