What Color Are You?

I am violet and lavender.

Please, no need to question my manhood. I am secure with my color. I am a proud violet/lavender combination man! Sure, blue would have been better. Maybe yellow or even orange. But, because of the way God made me I am violet/lavender.

Let me tell you about this journey of how I realized that I am not only black, but two different shades of purple (no pun intended, and if you took that for a joke because you know my skin complexion you were birthed from the loins of Satan himself.)

One day while in the bowels of what we call undergraduate education, I was talking to a good friend of mine and we were discussing our life goals, etc. I think at the time I wanted to be a Hip-Hop journalist, who knows, my career goals change just as much as Romney’s line about the health care bill.

Anyway, so as we were talking my homey said to me, I think we need to go get this book. It’ll help us with making life decisions, knowing our innerselves, you know, the typical revolutionary spiritual shit we say as new “conscious” beings (for my white readers, conscious refers to a person who is spiritually conscious of the oppressive actions taken against people of color across the Diaspora, for a quick lesson).

The following Saturday we did our ritualistic visit to Barnes and Noble. Yes, it was ritualistic. I had a thirst for knowledge–some have a thirst for other people’s private parts, I had a thirst for books and information.

So, she shows me the book. “Life Colors” by Pamela Oslie. I’m thinking, “why in the fuck does my friend have me reading some new age bullshit?” However, I digress. Of course, you trust your friends so you want to give them the benefit of the doubt so we begin reading.

It will probably be one of the books that I’ve read that not only changed my life, but consistently changes my life.

Everyone has an aura and that aura emits a color and that color expresses your personality type. Some people can see this aura, most cannot. Most can feel your aura, but cannot put into words how your aura makes them feel and vice versa. Life Colors is the book that assists you in finding your aura color and then expresses the various ways to accomplish your goals based upon the way your brain works especially in reference to dealing with relationships, career, and personal growth.

The process takes about 20 minutes. You answer a series of questions and based on how many questions you answer per category is the determinant of your personality type, hence your life color.

Life colors are grouped into three categories:

Physical Life Colors-or those who “process information through their physical bodies, through touch.” These are the Reds, Oranges, Magentas, and Yellows.

Mental Life Colors- or those who “process life intellectually, by first gathering information and then analyzing it.” These are the Logical Tans, Abstract Tans, Sensitive Tans, Environmental Tans, and Green.

*Emotional Colors-or those who “process life primarily through their feelings, emotions, and intuition.” These are the Blues, Violets, Indigos, Lavender, and Crystals.

As you read the book, and you only have to read your specific color(s), you will be amazed at how much it describes your personality type. You will be even more amazed about how much you can learn about yourself and how to improve both mentally and spiritually.

Now, just a quick lesson about why I have two colors. After having answered my series of questions, the highest number of yes’s I had were BOTH in lavender and violet. Violet having a number of 11 and lavender having a number of 10. Whenever you have two life colors where there is only a difference of 1 or 2 numbers, you have what is called a combination color. Meaning you have either added, through experience, another color or you are living two lives at once.

AND THIS IS THE MOST AMAZING PART AND I WILL KEEP TYPING IN CAPS BECAUSE I DIDN’T REALIZE THIS ABOUT MYSELF UNTIL I RETOOK THE TEST ON YESTERDAY.

THE REASON WHY I SOMETIMES GET CONFUSED WITH LIFE CHOICES, ESPECIALLY AS IT RELATES TO CAREER, IS BECAUSE I AM LIVING TWO LIVES AT ONCE.

God has enabled me the opportunity to have a multitude of skills and crafts and it is difficult for me to choose which one to commit to. The same applies in relationships, etc. Whew! Glad I got that figured out. Now, because of the book I can understand how to calm myself enough to really evaluate and not just shut down because I can’t figure it out.

So, I’m violet and I’m lavender and I’m actually quite proud of it. I think I might go and get me a purple fur coat like Cam’ron from Dip Set and get my gangsta! Lol…picture that. My black ass in a purple fur coat in the middle of summer talking about I’m violet and lavender. Only my mind can think of such atrocities.

Happy Reading Peeps.

Life Colors, Pamela Oslie can be found on amazon.com or in any B&N across the Nation.

You can take the test and read about your color on the website, . I suggest you buy the book because it is so much more detailed than the page requirements for a website.

J. Prince, Princepality 55

Tagged

Leave a Reply

